Food Safety Team Wins 2013 Opal Mann Green Award

The N.C. Fresh Produce Safety Task Force has received a 2013 Opal Mann Green Engagement Award. The recognition rewards authentic teamwork across the organizational structures within the university and community. It reflects programs that have been valued by the community and mutually beneficial to partners.

“The (N.C. Fresh Produce Safety Task Force) team is a great model for the scholarship of engagement and mutually beneficial community engagement,” said the Opal Mann Green Engagement and Scholarship Award Planning Committee.

This N.C. State University award is given in honor of Dr. Opal Mann Green, who had a long and successful career with N.C. Cooperative Extension. This award recognizes and memorializes Green’s distinguished leadership and dedication to the values of:

  • Using democracy in the classroom, in the community and at home,
  • Creating inclusionary teams, and
  • Community-based learning and mutually-beneficial action around local issues valued by community members.

Task force co-chairs include Dr. Ben Chapman, assistant professor and extension food safety specialist; Diane Ducharme, Plants for Human Health Institute GAPs program coordinator and extension associate in horticulture & food safety; Dr. Chris Gunter, assistant professor and vegetable production specialist.

Learn more about the Opal Mann Green Engagement and Scholarship Award.